Conversations

Standard

Image

I arrived at the  restaurant about 15 minutes early for a meeting. A blessing really, because it gave me time to watch people.  As I walked in I noticed a young man sitting outside smoking. He was alone except for his phone which he was busily typing some very important messages.

In a few minutes, about the time my coffee arrived, a young woman sat down with him; both 20 something, For the next thirty minutes I watched as they held their phones with both hands busily typing away.

Heads down, they never looked at each other.

I wonder what will happen to this couple? If married, will they be together when they are 40-something? I wonder how they will take care of their kids?  I remember growing up asking a lot of questions. Oh the joy of watching a mom and child in text Q&A. Who knows, by then that generation will have mastered telepathy.

Leave a Reply

