Dad’s Final Lesson

Standard

There are many moments in our lives that we miss. Sure we live them but those little lessons often show up much later in the day or year. This post is about those moments. Those Life Textures that we all have.

Morning Story and Dilbert

Morning Story and Dilbert Vintage Dilbert
July 11, 2011

“Meg, we need to talk.”

“Sure thing, Dad.”

My father and I had been sitting on the couch watching TV together and I knew he meant business when he muted the TV.

“As you know, I have been to the doctor several times over the last few days, and well Meg, I have a brain tumor.”

“Okay,” was all I could say.

“Just okay?”

“Yep, just okay.”

Of course he proceeded to explain to me the generalities, to which I offered only a nod. Looking back on that conversation, I didn’t know then what a big impact that moment would have on my life.

At the time I thought to myself, “Brain tumor — no biggie for Dad. If Mom can beat cancer, he can beat this.” Now I look back, thankful for my innocence.

It was the second half of my senior year, that…

View original post 801 more words

About jjoyv

A mom and grandma, I am working to capture and publish the works of my mom who left this world on March 13, 2012. Also trying to balance life, family, work, and set up a home-based business.

Leave a Reply

